Peter Stone

The following are members of the WAC Executive for the next four years. Members should contact their regional representatives regarding any WAC business.

Elected Officers


Martin Hall, Department of Archaeology, University of Cape Town, Rondebosch, 7700, South Africa. Email:

Vice President

Fekri Hassan, Institute of Archaeology, University College, 31-34 Gordon Square, London, WC1H OPY, United Kingdom. Email:


Lesley Sutty, International Association of Caribbean Archaeology, Anse La Touche, Le Carbet, Martinique 97221.
Email: LSUTTY/0002225812@MCIMAIL.COM


Robin Torrence, Division of Anthropology, Australian Museum, 6 College Street, Sydney, NSW 2000, Australia. Email:

Regional Representatives

Central Africa

Elected Senior Representative

Raymond Asombang, Department of Arts and Archaeology, University of Yaounde 1, PO Box 6544, Yaounde, Cameroon. Fax (237) 22 18 73.

Elected Junior Representative

Alain Assoko Ndong, Section Préhistorie et Archéologie du Musée Royal de L’Afrique Centrale, B 3080, Tervuren, Gabon. Email:

Eastern and Southern Africa

Remaining Senior Representative

Henry Mutoro, Department of History, University of Nairobi, PO Box 30197, Nairobi, Kenya. Fax (254) 2 336 885.

Elected Junior Representative

Alinhah Segobye, Department of History, University of Botswana, Private Bag 0022, Gaborone, Botswana. Fax (267) 355 2279. Email sebogye@noka.ub.bu

North Africa

Senior Representative: Post vacant

Remaining Junior Representative

Fathi Saleh, Ambassadeur, Délégué Permanent d’Egypte auprès de l’UNESCO, 1, Rue Miollis, 75015, Paris, France. Email:

Western Africa

Elected Senior Representative

Bayo Folorunso, Department of Archaeology and Anthropology, University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Nigeria. Email

Remaining Junior Representative

Obare Bagoda, Equipe de Recherche Archaeologique Beninoise, Departement d’Histoire, Universit Nationale du Benin, Porto Novo, BP 1057, Benin. Fax (229) 313702.

Central America and the Caribbean

Remaining Senior Representative

Dorrick Gray, Archaeological Division, Jamaica National Heritage Trust, Old Naval hospital, Port Royal, Kingston, Jamaica.

Re-elected Junior Representative

Lesley Sutty (note: as Lesley was elected WAC Secretary, the Officers have the opportunity to co-opt a member from the Region to replace Lesley on the Executive until a new election is held).

Northern America

Elected Senior Representative

Joan Gero, Department of Anthropology, American University, 4400 Massachusetts Avenue, Washington DC 20216, USA. Email:

Remaining Junior Representative

Adam Lord, 51, Melguno Road, Toronto, Ontario, M5R 2AI, Canada. Email:

Southern America

Remaining Senior Representative

Pedro Funari, History Department, University at Caminas, Sao Paulo, Brazil. Email:

Elected Junior Representative

Gustavo Martinez, Departamento de Arqueologia. INCUAPA. Facultad de Ciencias Socialos. Universidad Nacional del Centro de la Provincia de Buenos Aires. Del Valle 5737, Olavarria (CP 7400). Buenos Aires Province, Argentina. Email:

Eastern Asia

Remaining Senior Representative

Izumi Niro, Department of Archaeology, Faculty of literature, Okayma University, 3-1-1 Tsushima 700-8530, Okayama, Japan. Email:

Elected Junior Representative

Xingshan Lei, Department of Archaeology, Peking University, Beijing, 100871, P R China. (86) 10 62751667.

Southeastern Asia and the Pacific

Elected Senior Representative

Rasmi Shoocongdej, Department of Archaeology, Silpakorn University, Bangkok 10200, Thailand. Email:

Remaining Junior Representative

Claire Smith, Department of Archaeology, School of Cultural Studies, Flinders University of South Australia, GPO Box 2100, Adelaide, SA. 5001, Australia. Email:

Southern Asia

Remaining Senior Representative

Gamini Wijesuriya, Department of Archaeology, Sir Marcus Fernando Mawatha, Colombo 7, Sri Lanka. Email:

Elected Junior Representative

Ajay Pratap,SCADA Computer Centre, Sone Bhawan (1st Floor) Birchand Patel Path, Patna – 800 001, India. Email:

Western Asia

Elected Senior Representative

Mohammad Najjar, Department of Antiquities, PO Box 88, Amman, Jordan.

Elected Junior Representative

Mihriban Ozbassran, Prehistory Section, Faculty of letters, University of Istanbul, 34459 Istanbul, Turkey. Email:

Central and Eastern Europe and Central Asia

Elected Senior Representative

Eugenie Nosov, Institute for the History of Material Culture, Russia 191065 St Petersburg, Dvortzovaja Nab, 18 tel +7 812 311 5084, fax +7 812 311 6271 Email:

Elected Junior representative

Tsoni Tsonev, Institute of Archaeology and Museum, 2 Saborna str., 1000 Sofia, Bulgaria. Email:

Northern Europe

Elected Senior Representative

Robert Layton, Department of Anthropology, University of Durham, 43 Old Elvet, Durham, DH1 3HN, UK. Email:

Remaining Junior Representative

Maggie Ronayne, 119 Hale End Road, Walthamstow, London, E17 4DP, UK. Email: (underline joining names)

Southern Europe

Re-elected Senior Representative

Christos Doumas, L Photiadi 27, Athens 116 36, Greece. Fax (30) 1 321 6902

Remaining Junior Representative

Jesus Alvarez-Sanchis, Departamento de Prehistoria, Faculdad de Geografia e Historia, Universidad Complutense, 28040 Madrid, Spain. Fax (34) 1 394 6008.