Acknowledgement of Country

WAC-10 will be held on the traditional and unceded lands of the Larrakia people. We acknowledge Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia and globally and recognise their continuing connections to lands, waters and skies. We pay our respects to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures, and to Elders past and present. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples should be aware that this website may contain images or names of people who have passed away.

On behalf of the Organising Committee of the 10th World Archaeological Congress it is a great pleasure to invite colleagues from across the globe to come to Darwin, Australia from the 22nd to the 27th of June 2025 to participate in the 10th World Archaeological Congress.

For the first time, the World Archaeological Congress will be held in Australia. WAC-10 will be held in Darwin, Northern Territory, from 22-27 June 2025. It will be hosted by Flinders University in partnership with the Northern Institute at Charles Darwin University. WAC-10 will be an opportunity to collaborate with diverse colleagues and friends from around the globe and contribute to global policy making. People from more than 70 countries participate in WAC Congresses.

A cultural program will run parallel to the academic program to showcase the diversity and richness of Indigenous Australian cultures, providing an opportunity to learn directly from Aboriginal teachers. We also encourage you to visit the amazing landscapes of Australia’s Northern Territory.

The Congress will include:

  • Diverse academic program that includes all forms of archaeology.
  • Cultural Festival that showcases the visual and performing arts of Indigenous peoples in Australia and globally.
  • Tours to archaeological sites in dramatic landscapes, guided by traditional custodians and archaeology site specialists.
  • Aboriginal teachers sharing stories, artworks and ancient traditions spanning more than 65,000 years.
  • Social events and policy-making.
  • Dedicated support for Indigenous participants, students and for people from low-income countries.
  • Selected papers published by Routledge in One World Archaeology book series.

The World Archaeological Congress (WAC) is a non-governmental, not-for-profit organization and is the only archaeological organisation with elected global representation. WAC is committed to diversity and to redressing global inequities in archaeology through conferences, publications and scholarly programs.  Membership is open to archaeologists, heritage managers, students and members of the public.

Patrons for WAC Congresses include Prince Charles (now King Charles) (WAC-1), Nelson Mandela (WAC-4), Harriet Fulbright (WAC-5), Mary McAleese, President of Ireland (WAC-6), King Abdullah II of Jordan (WAC-7), and Eva Zažímalová, President of Czech Academy of Sciences (WAC-9).

Claire & Moogy

Major (Moogy) Sumner AM
Chair, Indigenous Elders Committee

Claire Smith
Academic Secretary
Flinders University, Australia


Sudeshna Biswas, India

Bruno de Souza Barreto, Brazil

Paul Edward Montgomery Ramírez, Indigenous America